HUBZone program

SBA New HUBZone Map Update Expands Small Business Program Participation and Federal Contract Eligibility Hundreds of Small Firms in Economically Disadvantaged Areas May Now Qualify for HUBZone Certification  

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announced the launch of a new Historically Underutilized Business Zone (HUBZone) preview map, which shows that hundreds of firms in newly released designated underserved areas will become eligible to apply for HUBZone certification, enabling them to compete for billions of dollars in federal contracts set aside for HUBZone-certified firms, to create jobs, and to improve the economy in their communities. 

Program benefits
The government limits competition for certain contracts to businesses in historically underutilized business zones. It also gives preferential consideration to those businesses in full and open competition.
Joining the HUBZone program makes your business eligible to compete for the program’s set-aside contracts. HUBZone-certified businesses also get a 10% price evaluation preference in full and open contract competitions.
HUBZone-certified businesses can still compete for contract awards under other socio-economic programs they qualify for.

HUBZone program qualifications
To qualify for the HUBZone program, your business must:
Be a small business according to SBA size standards
Be at least 51% owned and controlled by U.S. citizens, a Community Development Corporation, an agricultural cooperative, an Alaska Native corporation, a Native Hawaiian organization, or an Indian tribe
Have its principal office located in a HUBZone*
Have at least 35% of its employees living in a HUBZone*
You can find the full qualification criteria in Title 13 Part 126 Subpart B of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). 

*The HUBZone map is changing on July 1, 2023. See below for more detail.

Learn More Here:
View HUBZone Map Here:

Similar Posts